Skip to main content


The administrative and management structure of ELA consists of three entities. The Management Board of ELA provides strategic orientation and oversees  ELA’s activities. Next to  the Management Board, there is a Stakeholder Group that provides expertise in the field of labour mobility and is composed of representatives of the Union-level social partners.  The day-to-day organisation and administrative management of ELA is ensured by  the Executive Director, supported in his work by Heads of Units.  

Management Board

The strategic orientation of ELA is provided by the Management Board consisting of a member from each Member State, two members from the European Commission, an independent expert appointed by the European Parliament and four members of Union-level social partners. Two representing the trade unions and two representing the employer organisations. The Management Board has also several observers from EFTA Member States and ELA’s EU sister agencies. A full list of the members and observers can be found here.

Other activities of the Management Board, next to the overall strategic orientation, include the adoption of ELA’s draft Single Programming Document, including the annual budget, adoption of the Consolidated Annual Activity Report on ELA’s activities, the setting up of working groups and expert panels and the appointment of the Executive Director.

The Management Board meets at least twice a year and to ensure good cooperation and interconnectedness between the Stakeholder Group and the Management Board they have a joint meeting at least once a year.

Meetings of the Management Board

Decisions of the Management Board

Stakeholder Group

To benefit from the expertise of stakeholders in the field of labour mobility and social security coordination, ELA has a dedicated Stakeholder Group, composed of ten representatives of Union-level partners representing sectors which  are particularly involved in labour mobility. There is an equal representation between trade unions and employers organisations. Two representatives of the European Commission also take part in the Stakeholder Group.

The Stakeholder Group has an advisory role and its members  receive prior briefing and can submit opinions on the draft Single Programming Document, the draft Consolidated Annual Activity Report on and  other issues related to EU labour mobility falling within ELA’s scope.

The Stakeholder Group meets at least twice a year and in addition there is the joint meeting with the Management Board.

List of the Stakeholder Group Members

ELA Internal organisation

ELA’s mission is to ensure that EU rules on labour mobility and social security coordination are enforced in a fair, simple, and effective way. To fulfil such a multi-faceted mandate, the Authority established an organisational structure which  fosters an integrated, collaborative and action-oriented approach. The circular nature of ELA’s organigram reflects this interconnection of its tasks and its firm commitment to delivering quality results in all its operational areas.organisational chart ELA 2022

Executive Director

The Executive Director of ELA is responsible for the day-to-day management of the organisation and in this capacity also responsible for the implementation of  ELA’s tasks such as the implementation of the activities of ELA mentioned in the draft Single Programming Document.

The Executive Director plays a pivotal role in ensuring the connection between the Stakeholder Group and the Management Board, having the responsibility to inform the Management Board about the submissions from the Stakeholder Group.

Since December 2020, ELA’s Executive Director is Cosmin Boiangiu.

Full bio of Mr Cosmin Boiangiu

Follow ELA's Executive Director on Twitter / @CosminBoiangiu

Head of Unit

ELA Internal structure is organised around five Units. Each Unit is responsible for the execution of ELA’s tasks derived from the founding regulation and is managed by a Head of Unit.

Unit Head of Unit
Governance and Coordination Ms Slavka ELEY
Information and EURES Ms Irene MANDL
Cooperation Support Mr Malcolm SCICLUNA 
Enforcement and Analysis Mr Pedro ASSARES
Resources Mr Jacek SALDAN

Share this page